The Dessert of all Desserts – Chocomint Freeze

You may be asking yourself – what the heck is Chocomint Freeze? I am here to tell you it is only the best thing ever invented. It’s a recipe that’s been passed down in my family, that I grew up eating and can fondly remember the taste of even though I hadn’t had it in years. Last year, at my step brother’s wedding, my uncle reminded me of it and told me he had the recipe that my mom wrote out for him ages ago. He mailed it to me and I have had it hung on the fridge ever since, just waiting to be used. I even put it on my 30 before 30 list! But it never seemed like the right time. I knew how much work was involved and I just wasn’t ready for the challenge. Well, this past weekend that changed. Why? It was Noah’s birthday and I decided that was enough of a special occasion to whip out a very special treat. I thought Chocomint Freeze was special enough. And the consensus? Pure bliss. So now that I’ve gotten the thumbs up approval, I’m sharing the recipe with all the world. It is indeed time consuming, but it is so worth it.

Notes:

1) **this dish contains raw eggs** if you are allergic to raw eggs or do not want to eat raw eggs then you will need to substitute something for the egg yolks and whites

2) if you can find peppermint ice cream (instead of mixing crushed peppermint candies into vanilla ice cream) this will be even better!
Ingredients

1 1/4 cups finely crushed vanilla wafers (28)
4 tablespoons butter (melted)
1 quart peppermint ice cream – softened (or 1 quart vanilla mixed with crushed star brites or candy canes)
2 squares (2 0z) unsweetened chocolate
3 well beaten egg yolks
1 1/2 cups confectioners sugar
1/2 cup chopped pecans
1 teaspoon vanilla
3 egg white

Directions

Toss together crumbs and melted butter. Reserve 1/4 cup of this mixture to use on the top. Press crumb mixture into the bottom of an 8x8x2 baking dish. Spread with softened ice cream (if you are using vanilla ice cream you will first need to mix in your crushed peppermint). Freeze. Once it has frozen – melt 1/2 cup butter and the chocolate over low heat; gradually stir into egg yolks with the confectioner’s sugar, pecans and vanilla. Cool thoroughly. Meanwhile, beat egg whites til stiff peaks form. Beat chocolate mixture til smooth then fold in egg whites. Spread chocolate mixture over ice cream and top with the remaining crumb reserves. Freeze at least 2 hours.

After 2+ hours you can take it out, cut it like it’s a cake and dig in!!


Leave a Reply

