It’s Artomatic!

If you live in or around the DC area and have some free time today, tonight, or tomorrow, I would highly suggest checking out Artomatic 2012 in Crystal City. I had never heard of it, but on Wednesday afternoon I was invited by a friend to come meet her there. I had nothing else on my agenda (thanks to being unemployed!) so I drove over, having no idea what to expect. All I knew was that there were 10 floors of art exhibits to see in an old building that is going to be demolished in a few weeks.

We started on the 7th floor because that’s where the Post Secret exhibit was located and we were very intrigued by that. We spent about an hour and a half on just this floor before making the full circle. We then headed to a free beer and wine tasting put on by the Washington Wine Academy. Yes, I said FREE. After getting our drink on we explored the 10th floor and some of the 3rd floor. We spent a total of five and a half hours there and only saw two and a half floors. And it was the best art experience I’ve ever had.

Here are some of my favorite exhibits and pieces that I saw…


A colorful and mesmerizing piece.

I actually spoke to the artist who did the piece above because I was curious as to what was going through his head when he created it. He happened to be there watering his plants and told me that he didn’t believe in the institution of marriage. What you can’t see is that on the other side of the sign it says “Mirage”. Very interesting.

This piece is by the same artist as the first one. This is called vertical gardening. He potted his plants in Pepsi cans and formed them into the word “Coke”.

 

Several of the peep dioramas on display.  The Royal Wedding and A Romney Family Vacation.

 

The two above pictures are by the same artist. I thought they were clever. Pastafarianism anyone?

I loved how colorful the tree and dandelion paintings were. I would actually hang one of these in my house!

Artomatic will only be running for two more days (today and tomorrow) from noon until 1 AM so don’t miss it! The best part is it’s all free and there is something for everyone and many of the exhibits are interactive. Even if you aren’t “into” art I promise this event won’t disappoint!

Leave a Reply

