Freedom Week 2012

Where do I begin? I lost my job. I can’t get into what happened, but in the end I am fine. We will be fine. It sucks though, I can tell you that much. But at the same time it does have its benefits.

Like declaring this week “Freedom Week 2012”. Noah came up with that term. Basically Freedom Week is all about me. It’s for me to reflect, rejuvenate, grieve, do my own thing, sleep in, hang out with my mom. It’s time off that I have for myself. And I’m really happy that I have it. Because being unemployed is an adjustment.

I’ve been working in one way or another since I was 14…11 or 12 if you count babysitting. So more than anything – it feels bizarre. I don’t quite know what to do with myself because I’ve never had this much free time. Right now I’m just taking it one day at a time. We were busy all weekend and I had plans last night so I’ve been staying occupied.

In fact, two of the things I did this weekend were on my DC bucket list – the Pope-Leighey House and a Virginia wine tour – I’ll be blogging about both later this week.

At the end of this week, we will be going down to Georgia for a friend’s wedding on Saturday. Then we’ll drive to Lake Oconee and stay for the week – relaxing, enjoying nice weather, going out on the boat, and de-stressing before having to get back to reality. Aka looking for a job.

I don’t know where I’m headed next, but I’m excited for the opportunities in front of me. It’s a little overwhelming in a way, but at the same time it feels a little bit like an adventure.

“Our greatest glory is not in never falling, but in rising every time we fall.” -Confucius

10 thoughts on “Freedom Week 2012

  1. I’m so sorry to hear about your job loss! Sounds like you’re looking on the bright side though. Fingers crossed you find something new soon!

    • Thank you! I’m trying to see the positive in everything and I know that something good will come of this. It’s waiting that is the hardest part.

Leave a Reply

