Make this right now!

Tonight I tried a new recipe from Pinterest. I baked an egg in an avocado. It sounds weird, but it was delicious and really easy to make. I would eat this for breakfast, lunch, snack or dinner. It wasn’t as filling as I had hoped it would be, but it was really yummy. The recipe is from here. The only thing I really did differently from the recipe is I added red pepper flakes and Old Bay. I also cooked it in the pan for more than “a minute or two” but that may just be because my stove is weird. I kept an eye on it and when it looked done, I took it off.

First, cut the avocado in half, lengthwise. Take out the pit.


Next, remove the center of the avocado with a round cookie cutter or a spoon (I used a spoon). Meanwhile, place a pan over medium low heat and lightly spray with oil. Save the removed avocado for later. Then place the avocado in the pan.


Crack an egg into the center and season with whatever you like. I used pepper, Old Bay and red pepper flakes.

Cover the pan and cook for about 10 minutes. At least, this is how long I think it took. I wasn’t really timing it. The original recipe said to cook it for a minute or two, but it definitely wasn’t done even after I had turned up the heat. I ended up cooking in on medium high for a few minutes and then turned the heat down a little bit. Once the egg was noticeably done, I took it off.


And then, I dug in. It was really hot at first but too good not to eat. Creamy, warm, tasty, delicious! I will definitely be making this again.

8 thoughts on “Make this right now!

Leave a Reply

