Homemade Hummus

Friday morning while doing my daily perusing of CNN, I came across an interesting blog post about hummus.  I saw people posting various links to recipes in the comments section and once I saw how easy it was I knew I had to give it a try. Here is the recipe I used. I couldn’t find tahini, so I made my own. That was pretty simple too.  For both the hummus and tahini recipes, I cut the amounts down by a lot as I was only making enough for myself.

It’s pretty simple. You just need chickpeas (or garbanzo beans – which are apparently the same thing!), garlic, tahini, lemon juice, salt and olive oil. You probably already have a good amount of these ingredients in your pantry. If you don’t like garlic hummus, just leave out the garlic or you can substitute it with anything you like. This hummus was VERY garlic-y.  The kind of garlic-y where you have to brush your teeth before going out in public! But still, delicious. I think next time I made try adding tabasco sauce, roasted red peppers or maybe pine nuts. The options for flavors are endless. This was, in my opinion, way better than store bought hummus. I could not stop eating it!! I hope you step out of your comfort zone and give it a try too.

3 thoughts on “Homemade Hummus

Leave a Reply

