I’m such a newb.

I know I need some practice with my new DSLR camera, but I decided to take a walk around the park in my neighborhood just to play around with it.  The pictures I took aren’t amazing, by any means. I had no clue what I was doing. I was essentially just pushing different buttons to see what each setting did. I still don’t get it. I won’t get it until I read the manual and take a class. But it doesn’t hurt to start taking pictures! Here are a few I’ve taken today.


They haven’t been edited at all. I’ll probably try to play around with them in Photoshop – another thing I have yet to learn! I can’t wait until it’s spring out and everything becomes colorful again. Have any photography tips for me? I need help!

 

 

10 thoughts on “I’m such a newb.

  1. Practice makes perfect 😉 I got a DSLR for Christmas and pretty much just take a ton of pictures on different settings to see what happens. some look terrible, some look good, and a few look awesome. just takes practice, and luckily taking pictures is fun!

  2. Congrats on the new camera! What kind did you get? As for tips– I’d say just research the way your camera actually works. There is a science to it and once you understand that it makes taking good pictures a thousand times easier. Basically you need to learn about ISO (lower = less light comes in = less grainy pictures, but sometimes you have to push it up to get a still shot in lower light), aperture (lower = shorter field of distance = beautiful bokeh in the background behind your subject, or alternatively higher = best for landscapes with everything in focus), and shutter speed (you have to figure out the lowest speed at which your other settings work and you can freeze the action you’re taking. As a very general rule, if you stay about 1/60 you’ll stop casually action. If you really concentrate on staying still you can maybe handhold it down to 1/30 but any farther and your pic will probably be out of focus).

    Also, for post-processing– have you bought photoshop yet? I’d recommend you don’t. It is expensive and relatively complicated and you don’t really need it as a hobbyist. Photoshop lightroom or even elements would probably work just fine for you and they are a lot cheaper. I use lightroom and you can do 90% of what you can do in CS5 there– for about 1/5 of the cost and 1/10 of the frustration. 🙂

    • Thank you for the tips!! I was playing around with ISO yesterday, but have yet to learn about aperture and shutter speed. I do own Photoshop Elements, but I know that I personally prefer Lightroom…which I used to have a free trial of. I think Lightroom is a lot more user friendly, but I have been meaning to learn Elements anyway. I’ve had the program for quite a while now and it’s just been sitting in a box! I got a Canon Rebel Eos XS. I am so happy about it!

      • Awesome! I am a canon girl as well. Once you get comfortable with the camera you should really think about upgrading from the kit lens (if you haven’t already). My favorite multi-purpose lens is a 24-84. My favorite lens over all is my 10-22 which takes ammaaaazing landscapes.

Leave a Reply

