2011 in review

2011 was a great year for us. It was our first full year as a married couple (where the heck did the time go?!) and I would say it was pretty easy. I can’t think of any real hardships that we had to face this year – and I know how lucky that is. It was honestly one of the best years of my life.

January started off as our first full month in our new house. We signed a two year lease and were very excited to be living in a single family home. It was also the month that we got Nixon to get along with another dog for the first time. This was a HUGE accomplishment. Over MLK weekend, I went to Yorktown, NY to visit my best friends from college. It was SO cold, but absolutely beautiful.

February – we celebrated 6 months of marriage by going to a fancy dinner at 2941. It was one of the best meals of my life! We also traveled down to Atlanta for our nephew’s baby naming (and a Galactic concert) and to Richmond for Noah’s grandmother’s 80th birthday party.

March – Marked 1 year for both of us at our jobs. I couldn’t believe that I would be with this company the longest. We also went to the Baltimore aquarium with Noah’s family while his parents were in town and had some fun exploring H street with friends.

April – Was our first month without cable. It was tough at first, but now we’re completely used to it. Noah’s twin sister got engaged (!) to her boyfriend of 4 years. I of course was excited to have another wedding to be a part of! We went to Culpeper, VA for Noah’s aunt’s annual Easter party and I took Noah on a surprise day date in DC.

May – For the 2nd year in a row we went to NYC for my childhood friend’s 25th birthday. This year we took along my brother and his girlfriend. We didn’t do too much sightseeing, but we did have an amazing experience at Graffiti Food and Wine Bar. We also went to one of Noah’s coworkers weddings in Frederick, MD over Memorial Day and then traveled to Lake Oconee for the rest of the weekend.


June
– I think this was the month the heat wave started. And it only got worse. I went to Delaware to attend a wedding of my college friend’s cousin. I didn’t even know the bride and groom, but since my bff lives in Rhode Island, we took advantage of him being so close to me. I was so happy to visit with him and his brother and parents.

July – was extremely busy, but also my favorite month this year. We went to Lake Oconee for the week of July 4th. I got Noah an early anniversary cake (since our wedding cake was a piece!) from the bakery we originally loved. We spent the week hanging out with friends and having a great time. At the end of the week we drove 5 hours to Jekyll Island, GA for our friends’ wedding. Just two weeks later we got back on the road for a road trip to Kansas City, MO for my step brother’s wedding. We drove there and back in just 4 days. It was insane, but so much fun!

August – Anniversary month! We went to the Leesburg Outlets and spoiled ourselves silly then had dinner at Seasons 52 – the first place we ate dinner as husband and wife one year ago!

Noah traveled to New Orleans for a bachelor party while I stayed in DC for a bachelorette party. We were supposed to go to Atlantic City, but Hurricane Irene canceled those plans. By a stroke of luck, the girls of the bachelorette ended up having a very reduced price dinner at Michel Richard’s Citronelle in DC. Hands down, best meal of my life. Did I mention we were at the chef’s table? IN the kitchen! Yeah, that happened.

September – September was another really busy month. We went to Taste of Falls Church, even though it was raining, and ate WAY too much. We attended our friends’ wedding in Berryville, VA and had a blast the entire weekend. I got Noah tickets to see his favorite band, Wilco, for our anniversary and we saw them at Merriweather Post Pavilion the day after our friends’ wedding. Huge mistake. So. Hungover. But it was still fun and I’m glad we went. Unfortunately, right after the concert I got sick with a bronchial infection for 10 days. I celebrated my 25th birthday with Noah, my mom, my brother and his gf and my sister in law at Mad Fox Brewing Co. in Falls Church. Immediately after dinner, I went home and went to bed!

October – was a great month. Noah’s best friend from home and his 7.5 months pregnant wife surprised him by coming up to Virginia for his birthday weekend. Noah and I had a joint birthday party on Noah’s actual birthday. The next day we ate lunch at Founding Farmers (which I got to cross of my bucket list!) and saw the National Cathedral. We also saw the MLK memorial, the Lincoln Memorial and the American History museum. I secretly love when we have tourists to take around! The following weekend, we went to Rehoboth beach with our friend Kyle. And took Nixon to the beach for the first time.


November
– Began our whirlwind of Holiday traveling. We drove to Lake Oconee (in a mini van) for Thanksgiving with our friend Kyle. We spent the weekend eating a ton of food and playing several rounds of spades. We even managed to get out on the boat once.

December – Cruise month! The first week of December we went to Tampa to visit a college friend, then embarked on our week long Caribbean cruise. I was so warm, happy, and relaxed. I want to go back! The weekend after we got back, we returned to Georgia for our nephew’s first birthday party. Then it was Christmas. We made gingerbread houses and ate 7 layer dip at my mom’s, had Chinese food on Christmas Eve at my dad’s, spent all of Christmas day at my mom’s and then went back to my dad’s for brunch on Boxing Day. AH! And now, here we are. Two days before the end of 2011!

It’s been an eventful year, but I’m glad to be moving to the next. I can’t wait to see what 2012 has in store for us!

3 thoughts on “2011 in review

Leave a Reply

