#WEverb11 Day 3

I wrote this post on December 3 and tried to schedule the post, but for some reason it didn’t work out! So here is my post for Dec. 3!

 

Learn.

What lesson did you learn in 2011 from “The School of Life” rather than a classroom?
The lesson that I learned in 2011 is that having a positive attitude really can change everything. For me, it was about my job. I had been at my company for a little over a year when the burn out started hitting me. I think this is a trend in my jobs because I left my first job after 13 months and my second job after only 8. My problem before is that as soon as I started becoming unsatisfied with the job I decided it was time to leave, instead of staying and trying to find a way to be happier.
This being my third job out of college, I realized that it probably doesn’t look so good to future employers to have bounced around so much within such a short period of time. Once I made that realization, I knew that I needed to change my attitude or else I’d just be miserable. I started to see the positives about coming to work. The fact that it does get me out of the house, that I have a job where I do my work at work and leave it behind when I go home and that I enjoy seeing my coworkers. After a few months of the attitude change, I started to actually enjoy my job. I won’t say I love it, because it’s definitely not what I want to do for the rest of my life, but it suits me well for now. Around the same time that my outlook was improving, the job itself was improving too. Most notably, I was going to be participating in a telecommuting pilot in which I will be able to work from home 5 days a week until early February. Now that I’m at home most of the time, I really enjoy my job and don’t feel as stressed as I used to.

I can truly say that my positive attitude made a difference in the way I perceived work. I hope that I can remember this for other aspects of my life too. The power of positive thinking goes a long way!

What lesson did you learn in 2011? Participate in #WEverb11!

Leave a Reply

