A giant serving of thanks

Once again, blogging has taken a back seat to life. There was a point that I cared and thought “Maybe I should go back?” or “Will I ever do it again?” and even “Do I even care?” but now I think I’m ready again. Ready to start over. Ready to share my life, my thoughts, my recipes (I have a few that I’ll be posting soon!) and ready to be a good blog reader and commenter of others’ blogs too. I think it’s probably because winter is on its way and what better way to pass the time than curling up on the couch with a cup of tea and my laptop.

I kept trying to think of what I should write for my first “I’m really truly back” post but my mind was continuously drawing a blank. Then I was reading a long time favorite blog of mine Heart on Homestead and her Thanksgiving post made me realize what would be the perfect thing – a post about who and what I’m thankful for.

Source

First and foremost, I’m thankful for my mom. She is practically my best friend. I talk to my mom on the phone [almost] every day about anything and everything. And when we’re not talking on the phone, we’re emailing….or maybe even Facebooking. Even though we only live 45 minutes away, we don’t see each other all that often. But when we do, we always have a great time. This past Sunday we spent the day baking homemade dog biscuits and making our own version of spanikopita – both of which I’ll be sharing with you at some point in the near future!

Of course, I’m thankful for my husband. He is my rock. Without him, I’d be crazy. No, seriously, you don’t understand the level of unreasonableness I’d be at if he didn’t keep me tethered to reality. We are by no means a perfect couple, but we get each other and I am so grateful for that.

I’m also thankful that we live so close to some of my favorite people – my sister in law, my older brother and his girlfriend, my younger brother, my dad and stepmom and plenty of great friends. I feel so fortunate that we have lots of people close by that we enjoy spending time with. And who are so willing to watch our animals whenever we go out of town!!

I’m thankful for my in laws and how they’ve made me feel like a part of their family from early on. They are a wild and crazy bunch and our gatherings are nothing short of entertaining, which makes me look forward to the time we spend with them.

Lastly, I’m thankful for things. Not things like my TV, but rather things like: our pets (they’re awesome), our house, our safe neighborhood, our jobs, being able to put food on our table every day and having our biggest worry be how much our cell phone bill is going to cost. Oh and I can’t forget my readers. If you are reading this post – I am thankful for you! Because it means that my words are not being lost in space….and I appreciate that!

 

What are you thankful for this year?

 

 

4 thoughts on “A giant serving of thanks

    • Thanks Liz! I am definitely going to be making spanikopita again soon (probably right after Thanksgiving) so I will post then. I should have taken pictures when I made it with my mom, but we were having too much fun!

Leave a Reply

