If I could do it again…

Don’t get me wrong, I LOVED my wedding. It was the best day of my life. Everything was gorgeous, the weather was what I wanted (sunny and HOT!), all of my favorite people were there, it was in one of my favorite places in the world. But, if I could do it all again, with an unlimited budget…these are some things I would do!

1) Videography – I say this to everyone I know that is getting married. Get a videographer! It’s probably the only thing I truly regret that I didn’t do. Why? Because I would give anything to hear us say our vows to one another. I think it would help me to be able to relive that day more, and that would be amazing. This is my favorite wedding video of all time, however I want to point out that I am not cool enough to do something of this caliber. Mrs. Scissors on the other hand, is.

2) Decor. Tastes change over time, and mine surely has. When I first started wedding planning I didn’t really get a sense of my style. I never figured it out so I just went with color coordinating everything. While I think everything turned out beautifully (for the most part) I now know that I would have loved to do something like this…

Project Wedding DIY Map Wedding - Gorgeous!

3) Location. N and I originally wanted to get married in Charleston. Don’t ask me why, because I really don’t know. One weekend we drove down there to look at venues and I fell in love with Founders Hall. Both of us did actually. However, when we went to meet with a caterer there, it was just too expensive. The venue was a steal, but the bill for food was just too much for us to swallow (ha!) so we moved on. But we agree that if we were to do it over again, we’d probably get married here.

Other than that, the only other thing I would change would probably be my hair. I loved my hair on my wedding day, but I don’t think it was very “me”. I only wore it up because it was so freaking hot that I would have been dying if it was down. If I could do it again, I would probably have something like this..

Maybe in 19 years we will have a vow renewal and I will do all of these things! And for now, I hope someone finds inspiration from this!

8 thoughts on “If I could do it again…

  1. I agree with no.1, I wish we had a video so like you I could re-live it. At the time I didn’t have a job so saw it as an unecessary expense. Two days before the wedding I got the call offering me a job. If I’d got the call sooner, then perhaps we’d have had a video.

    • Oh man that sucks! I tried to remember to have a friend or family member video even just the ceremony, but I totally forgot! Oh well…I do love my pictures at least!

  2. Oh girl, I hear ya. I mean, our wedding was perfect for who we were are the time, but there is so much I would change if I were getting married now, haha. Oh well, it was lovely at the time. šŸ™‚ Plus we are planning a big vow renewal in a couple of years and I’m super excited about that!

    • Right? And you had a beautiful wedding, with video! But I guess tastes are going to change regardless. I think a vow renewal is a great idea, I want to have at least one in our lives, if not more!

  3. I do the same thing. I love looking at wedding blogs still and I partially blame that. The wedding was awesome, but it all goes by so quickly. It’s extremely tough to make sure it’s exactly what you want when the date is barreling towards you.

    My big regret is that we didn’t get a lot of candid-ish photos of us. And I’m working on talking my husband into doing an anniversary shoot sometime to make up for it.

    • Yes, I blame that too! I always look at wedding stuff on weddingbee or Pinterest and swoon over everything. And of course, compare. We didn’t get many candids either, but it’s because I really didn’t research photography styles that much before our wedding! It’s funny because from what I’ve seen (and what Jess told me) your wedding was gorgeous! I think an anniversary shoot is an awesome idea!

Leave a Reply

