Sunday Social!

Even though it’s Monday, I still wanted to link up for Sunday Social! This is my second time doing it and I think I’m just as excited as I was the first time  because the topic is just as good. What is this amazing topic you ask? Food, glorious food. Yes, I equate taking an amazing vacation with eating incredible food. Not even incredible food but just food that makes you really appreciate what you are eating. So I am extremely happy that this week’s Sunday Social Link Up is about just that. You should link up too…it’s a lot of fun!

If you could only eat one thing for the rest of your life, what would it be?Probably pizza. I just don’t get sick of it that easily. Either that or sushi (from Ginza in Connecticut) or cheese and crackers. I’m weird.

What’s your guilty pleasure/comfort food?Guilty pleasures: Bagel bites, ice cream, goldfish, Pepperidge farm cookies. Or any cookies for that matter ;)

Comfort food:  the first thing that comes to mind is homemade chili (my husband makes the BEST)
What’s the weirdest/craziest thing you’ve ever eaten?
Let’s see…frog legs (ew!), alligator.

What foods do you avoid at all costs?

I guess meat since I’m a vegetarian. But I wouldn’t say I avoid it at all costs…
What meal reminds you of your childhood?Tuna casserole, made from scratch macaroni and cheese, shepherds pie, and seven layer dip (which we eat every year on Christmas Eve as tradition).

Share one of your favorite recipes and the story behind itOne of my favorite recipes is chocomint freeze. This is a dessert my mom made when I was a kid and I’m pretty sure her mom used to make too. My mom lost the recipe for a while, but I talked to my uncle about it last year and he said he still had a [handwritten] copy of the recipe that my mom had given to him when she was in high school. I’ve had this recipe on my fridge since my uncle sent it to me a year ago, but I still haven’t made it. Maybe that should be my final goal before moving out of this house?! I’ll add the recipe to my recipes tab in a bit!

6 thoughts on “Sunday Social!

    • My mom read this post and told me she wanted to make it with me when we move in. Once we make it I’ll definitely post pictures. It is an incredibly delicious dessert!!

  1. Hey Clare! I remember having chocomint freeze as a kid too, and this inspired me to ask my mom for the recipe so I can make it sometime soon :)

    • Please let me know if you guys end up making it. My mom and I plan on making it soon too but we know it’s going to be a process so are waiting for the right day to do it. I remember it being very delicious :)

      • I made it the other day and it was just as good as I remembered. I did have to alter the recipe slightly as Ryan is allergic to raw eggs, but it was still a hit as it is already gone :)

Leave a Reply

