Recent Reads

With all the extra time on my hands I have been doing a little bit more reading. I’ve read a few books for my monthly book club this year, but I’ve also read some others just for fun. I love reading on my Kindle since I can bring it anywhere (it’s perfect for the waiting room of a doctor’s office!) but I’m a real book lover at heart. You can’t ever make me give up my hard cover and paperback books. The smell, the feel. I love it. And that’s why one of my favorite places to find books is at the thrift store or at this little book shop located just down the street from our house.

 

I usually choose books based on their covers (gasp!) and I’ve found a lot of favorites this way. Here are some of my favorites that I’ve read in the past few months.

 
This book probably isn’t winning any awards any time soon, but that doesn’t matter to me. This was a light, easy read with a lot of┬árelate-ability. The story is about three girls who know each other but don’t really get along who come to work at one of their father’s peach orchard for the summer. There’s a little bit of teenage romance, a lot of teenage angst and the perfect amount of peach talk to get you craving some of your own. This is the type of book you can easily read in an afternoon (at the beach or the pool if you’re lucky!) and you’ll probably be smiling by the end. Apparently there are two other books in this series and I can’t wait to read them.


Nick Hornby’s “Slam” is one that I found at the thrift store. I chose it partly based on its cover, but more so because I’ve read and enjoyed other books by Nick Hornby and wanted to give this one a shot. While it wasn’t my favorite book of his (I love How to be Good) I did enjoy it. I won’t tell you what the story is about since I don’t want to give anything away, but I think it’s somewhat obvious by the cover. This one is another that ready pretty quickly. It wasn’t a book that I absolutely couldn’t put down, but it was a good read all the same. I’d recommend if, especially if you like Hornby’s writing.

 

Yes, I’m late to the game on this one as Chelsea Handler’s book has now been made into a spin off sitcom, lasting all of one season. But this book has been sitting on my shelf for probably 2 years so I figured it was time to read it. I enjoyed this book because Chelsea writes exactly the way she acts on TV. I could hear her voice the entire time I was reading it and loved that. Each chapter is a short story that happened at some point in Chelsea’s life. Some of the stories are more funny than others, but all are at least somewhat entertaining. I loved this book for the fact that I could read one chapter and put it down for a while then pick up and read the next chapter. I love being able to put a book down and come back to it without having to re-read the same paragraph five times over. The only thing I didn’t love was that I’ve already seen her TV show of the same name and the stories in the book are very similar to the episodes of the show.

Last, but not certainly not least is one of the books we read for book club. This book is a memoir written by your typical late twenties girl in search of close girl friends in a relatively new city. The author, Rachel Bertsche goes on a series of “friend dates” over the course of a year in order to try to build her (in real life) social network. What I loved about this book is that it sheds light on the fact that it is hard to form friendships post-college. Even if you do have a lot of friends post-college it’s still a great skill to have to be able to be friendly with people. This book may not be for everyone, but I think if you give it a chance you’ll probably walk away with an open mind and different perspective.

In other reading news, I’ve added a Goodreads section on my sidebar to show you what I’m currently reading. Anyone have any good book recommendations? I’m open to a lot, so any suggestion is welcome! What are you reading these days?

8 thoughts on “Recent Reads

  1. I just read Tiger Lily which is Jodi Lynn Anderson’s new book and it was a really light read as well. I think I’ll read this one you mention too – it sounds good even if it isn’t winning any rewards! : )

Leave a Reply

