I gotta get through this

Where do I begin? I guess where I left off was that I was enjoying Freedom Week (it was awesome!) and that I was planning to go to Georgia. Well we did go to Georgia. And it was perfect. The weather couldn’t have been better. We went out on the boat a lot and the water was always smooth like glass. One night we took the boat out at sunset and watched the sunset from the middle of the lake, after making a quick stop to take pictures at Great Waters – our wedding venue.

Where we had our rehearsal dinner

Great Waters

Sunset at Lake Oconee

Georgia sunset

Other than boating we spent a lot of time sitting on the dock with the dog and sitting on the screened in porch watching the many birds come to the bird feeder. It was incredibly relaxing. Towards the end of the week, we were starting to dread getting back to reality. Noah with going back to work and me with being unemployed. We weren’t ready for it. I especially wasn’t ready for it. Coming back home meant starting my job search and making a plan. I hadn’t given it a single thought the whole week.

Fast forward to Saturday when we were driving back into Atlanta to spend some more time with Noah’s sister and brother in law and our nephew. We had just left the lake and gotten on the highway when we received the most heart wrenching call. Our five year old nephew fell out of a 3rd story bedroom window and was being air lifted to Johns Hopkins. Cue panic. At that time that was all the information anyone had. We continued to drive into Atlanta because we thought my mother in law might want to drive back up to Maryland with us. Once we got there she told us she had decided to book a flight up as soon as possible so she could get there quickly. We said our goodbyes to my in laws and started the journey back home.

The 9 hour drive was one of the hardest drives of our lives. We had just been on a high the whole week when all of a sudden our lives were turned upside down. All we could think about was my nephew and what would happen with him. It was terrifying. I don’t think we listened to music until the last 30 minutes of the drive.

Now that we are back home, we are realizing the gravity of everything that is going on in our lives right now. And it’s hard. Being unemployed sucks but it pales in comparison to the stress and anxiety we are feeling about our nephew. Though of course the two going on at the same time really doesn’t help.

I’m trying to take things one day at a time. I know that things will improve and that things could be worse, but it’s difficult to see that right now. Thank you for all of your thoughts and prayers (on Facebook and Twitter, by text and email) – they really keep my spirits high.

And thankfully, I have the best husband in the world. Please keep my nephew and family in your thoughts and prayers!

15 thoughts on “I gotta get through this

Leave a Reply

